Bookmakers are known to have different rules and this is particularly true for tennis matches. It is common to see a player get injured and losing a bet because of this might be quite frustrating. Moreover, winning margins on tennis can be tight, so paying close attention to such details might make all the difference in the world. Therefore, before you place a bet, it is a good idea to know what the relevant tennis retirement rules are.

Tennis rules among bookies vary, but can generally be categorized into 4 groups: 1 ball/ball served, 1 set completed, 2 sets completed and match completed.

1 Ball (Also called Ball Served)

Bookmakers who operate the 1 Ball Served policy consider a bet standing if there is a single ball served. If, following the first serve, a player retires for any reason, the bet is still standing with the bookies that have this tennis rule.

1 Set Completed

As the name suggests, this group includes bookmakers that consider a bet standing once the first set is completed. If a player gets injured within the first set, then your bet is canceled (considered void) and your stake is returned. However, once the first set of the match is played, the bet stands with the bookie.

2 Sets Completed

Similarly, the 2 Sets Completed policy means that 2 sets of the match need to be completed, in order for the bet to stand with the bookie. Any retirements prior to the completion of the first 2 sets, leads to a cancellation of the bet (void) and a return of the placed stake for all bookmakers that have this tennis rule.

Match Completed

Under this tennis rules policy, the entire match needs to be completed, in order for the bet to stand with the bookie. Any retirements will result in a bet cancellation and stake return.

Here is the list of bookmakers, according to the way they apply the tennis rules.


Match Completed 1 Set Completed Ball Served 2 Sets Completed
10bet Intertops 5Dimes 888sport TheGreek
12bet Jetbull Betdaq Betshop
12betUK Luxbet Betfair
138 Mobilbet Betfred Interwetten
188bet Mybet BetOnline Meridianbet Netbet Betsafe Novibet
Bet365 NordicBet Betsson
Bet-at-home Noxwin Coral
BetClic Paddy Power GoBetGo
BetCRIS Realdealbet Ladbrokes
Betinternet SBO Ladbrokes AU
Betrally SportsbetAU Marathonbet
Bookmaker Stan James Matchbook
Boylesports Stoiximan Paf
Canbet TabAU Panbet
Cashpoint Tatts Pinnacle
Centrebet Tipico Smarkets
Championsbet Titanbet Unibet
Comeon Victor Chandler Bwin
Dafabet William Hill
Diamond Sports Book William Hill AU
Expekt Winner